Crushed by Idols

I really like this excerpt from Nietzsche. It inspires me.  Psht. Whatever, read Ecce Homo.

BAM:

One repays a teacher badly if one always remains only a pupil. And why, then, should you not pluck at my laurels?

You revere me; but what if your reverence tumbles one day? Beware that a statue does not strike you dead!

You say you believe in Zarathustra? But of what importance is Zarathustra? You are my believers: but of what importance are all believers?

You had not yet sought yourselves: then you found me. Thus do all believers; therefore all faith amounts to so little.

Now I bid you lose me and find yourselves; and only when you have all denied me will I return to you.

– Friedrich Nietzsche, Thus Spoke Zarathustra

Tags:

Leave a Reply

